shadow

Dear Haijin, visitors and travelers,

Its time again for a new episode of our “Shadows” feature here at Carpe Diem Haiku Family. Just a few minutes ago I posted an episode of Carpe Diem Extra at Carpe Diem Haiku Kai. In that CD-Extra I have announced a very special month in which we will go on the trail with Basho and I love to “step in” here on that idea.

I love to challenge you to write a haibun (prose and haiku) in which you describe a journey (it doesn’t need to be a real journey you have undertaken) to a place you would love to see once in your life. For example, I would love to visit Japan once in my life, but I think that will not happen, but I can (of course) make that journey in my mind and dreams.

photo © Michael Yamashita

photo © Michael Yamashita

A haibun is a piece of prose in which you use haiku as e.g. Basho did in his “Journey into the Deep North” (or Oku-no-Hosomichi). I am looking forward to your stories, your haibun. Have fun!

This “Shadows”-episode is NOW OPEN for your submissions and will remain open until next Saturday February 21st at noon (CET).

